My first (1st) Second (2nd) Life meeting

April 3, 2009 § Leave a comment

I attended my first ever Second Life (SL) conference last week.

It was organised by the friendly folks at Rez Ed.

I was part of discussion regarding the issues of mixed ages in virtual worlds.

I am glad that my school has purchased a Second Life (SL) private island so that we can track what happens with our students ( hopefully offering them a safer place to learn).

It was good to meet a variety of people (below) and I have since starting following their blogs/tweets.

Lisa Dawley http://onlineeducators.blogspot.com/

SL official http://twitter.com/SecondLife

In particuluar, it was great to come into contact with MathBear.

Smitty checking out the Math Bear Education Initiative

Smitty checking out the Math Bear Education Initiative

I am hoping to learn a great deal about teaching mathematics in virtual worlds from him.

It will be great for more maths teachers to get involved in developing these types of environments.

MathBear says that ‘Teaching mathematics in Second Life can be made into a more meaningful and engaging learning experience for students than is generally possible in real life schools.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My first (1st) Second (2nd) Life meeting at Mark Liddell's Blog.

meta

