Hello, I am student john smith at your school.

November 7, 2010 § 1 Comment

Hello,

 

I’d like to fail all of my year 8 Mathematics Assessment Tasks and then proceed to Year 9 Mathematics please.

 

It’s just like in real life where if I fail my driving test then I can still drive, right?

 

I’ve heard that uni is the same, you just turn up and then you study if you want and then get through.

 

What does fail mean?

 

Should all of the assessments be about basic skills?

 

Given that students are life-long learners, could they assess some life-long learning skills at school?

 

After all, there’s a good chance I won’t be needing all of the basic skills, I’ll need to be a problem solver.

 

What should I learn in Year 8 Mathematics so that I can succeed at Year 9 Mathematics?

 

Not just the basic skills, what are the problem solving skills that would help?

 

I need to learn how to learn, not just be spoon fed formulas and facts, right?

 

Hello, I am student john smith at your school.

 

I want to learn.

 

 

 

 

§ One Response to Hello, I am student john smith at your school.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello, I am student john smith at your school. at Mark Liddell's Blog.

meta

